Pendergrass named Player of the Year

Enrico Pendergrass has been named Darlington County's high school football Player of the Year. The Hartsville High School senior received the award on January 18 during the annual Player of the Year banquet, which is co-sponsored by Darlington Raceway and The News and Press, Darlington's hometown newspaper. Pendergrass, a tailback, rushed for 1,421 yards on 205 carries during the 2005 season, and scored 17 touchdowns. He also played on special teams as a kick returner, and had 16 catches for 151 yards and one touchdown on offense. His total yardage for the year was fifth highest in HHS history. "Enrico is a great player. He will be sorely missed," said Red Foxes' head coach Jeff Calabrese. Former USC Gamecock football standout Rob DeBoer served as keynote speaker for the banquet. DeBoer was the Gamecocks' offensive MVP in 1992, and team captain in 1993. "If you want it badly enough, you can live every aspect of your lives as A-listers," DeBoer told the players. "Be focused; be dedicated. Be determined to improve not only yourselves, but everyone around you. When you apply your energy to the benefit of others, that's when you really become a team player." In order to qualify for Player of the Year honors, an individual Darlington County high school athlete is chosen each week during the football season as Player of the Week. All Players of the Week are honored at the banquet before the Player of the Year is announced. Players of the Week for the 2005 season in addition to Pendergrass were Addrick Robinson of Darlington High School; Avis Kennedy of Lamar High School; Thad Coe of Darlington High School; J.J. Hicks of Hartsville High School; Antonio "Bootsy" Gattison of Darlington High School; Marquais Hamlin of Lamar High School; Sylvester Jordan of Lamar High School; Chase Gainey of Hartsville High School; and Frankie MCCullough of Lamar High School.
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK
You may unsubscribe at any time.
Darlington Raceway
1301 Harry Byrd Hwy
Darlington, SC 29532

© 2020 Darlington Raceway


ISC Track Sites